Published results · as of 29 September 2026

ChatGPT ads: what advertisers reported

Every result we could find where an advertiser, or its agency, published what a ChatGPT ads campaign cost and what came back. One row per campaign, each linked to its source. 27 results so far.

Advertiser showed its own numbersSecond-hand or a summary$0$5$10$15Unnamed advertiser (2026-06-15): $1.72 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-06-08): $1.89 per clickScopic Studios (2026-08-27): $2.74 per clickOut of the Box Advisors (2026-08-20): $2.77 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-08-21): $2.87 per clickWorkshop Digital (2026-08-26): $3.14 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-09-04): $3.37 per clickOut of the Box Advisors (2026-07-24): $3.50 per clickUnnamed advertiser (2026-07-01): $4.41 per clickAdLibrary (US, 2026-07-13): $5.00 per clickUnnamed advertiser (2026-09-11): $5.00 per clickSymphonic Digital (US, 2026-08-03): $9.00 per clickSynter (US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, 2026-06-11): $9.89 per clickGrow My Ads (2026-08-03): $13.00 per click
$0$5$10$15Unnamed advertiser (2026-06-15): $1.72 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-06-08): $1.89 per clickScopic Studios (2026-08-27): $2.74 per clickOut of the Box Advisors (2026-08-20): $2.77 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-08-21): $2.87 per clickWorkshop Digital (2026-08-26): $3.14 per clickUnnamed advertiser (US, 2026-09-04): $3.37 per clickOut of the Box Advisors (2026-07-24): $3.50 per clickUnnamed advertiser (2026-07-01): $4.41 per clickAdLibrary (US, 2026-07-13): $5.00 per clickUnnamed advertiser (2026-09-11): $5.00 per clickSymphonic Digital (US, 2026-08-03): $9.00 per clickSynter (US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, 2026-06-11): $9.89 per clickGrow My Ads (2026-08-03): $13.00 per click
Cost per click, one dot per result. Filled dots: the advertiser showed its own numbers. Hover a dot for the advertiser and date; the table below has every figure.

Clicks reported, visits counted

Some advertisers checked the clicks ChatGPT Ads reported against the visits their own analytics recorded from the same campaign.

Who Clicks reported Visits counted Share Source
Out of the Box Advisorssmall-business coaching (own service) · 2026-07-24 140 under 20 under 14% outoftheboxadvisors.com
$500 spent in a little over an hour; ~10,000 impressions; CPC reported as roughly $3.50; the August update blames part of the click gap on its own missing UTM tags
Symphonic Digitaldigital marketing agency (own white-label PPC/SEO services) · 2026-08-03 53 35 66% symphonicdigital.com
One month on a $50/day budget; spend reported as roughly $500, CPC as ~$9; max bid raised to $12 to pace after $3 was advised
Out of the Box Advisorssmall-business coaching (own service) · 2026-08-20 – – 68% outoftheboxadvisors.com
Second campaign, in the Aug 20 update: one week, same landing page, working tagged links; CPC reported as roughly $2.77; click count not given
CleverlyB2B lead generation agency (own campaign) · 2026-08-28 57 under 20 under 35% mediapost.com
Figures relayed by MediaPost from Cleverly's Nicholas Verity; spend and CPC not given
Unnamed advertiservisa and passport expediting service · 2026-09-04 165 15 9% reddit.com
8 days (Aug 28-Sep 4), Reddit u/Michael-Traction; clicks reported as ~200, CTR 0.75%. Same page on Google, same 6 days: 426 clicks, 127 sessions; cost per engaged session ~$92 vs ~$555; visits: 15 sessions from 165 ChatGPT clicks over the same 6 days

All results

Date Who Country Spend Clicks Per click What came back Sureness Source
2026-06-08 Unnamed advertisersocial media marketing agency (own services) US $70.00 37 $1.89 0 conversions Seen youtube.com
YouTube video (Sean Standberry). About 14 days (May 20-Jun 2) at $5/day; CTR 1.29%, CPM $24.46; max CPC bid $3.50; a later new campaign required a $25/day minimum. Figures read from the video's captions
2026-06-11 SynterB2B software (own product) US, UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand $4,428.84 448 $9.89 – Seen syntermedia.ai
9 days (Jun 2-10); CTR 0.35%, CPM $34.16; CPC by market: US $10.62, UK $5.10, Canada $8.33, Australia $17.59, NZ $22.89; conversions not published
2026-06-15 Unnamed advertiseragency client, industry not stated – $60,000 – $1.72 $1.49 back per $1 (ROAS 1.49), about $89,000 revenue Claimed opascope.com
Agency: Opascope. 15 days; spend reported as roughly $60K, CPC as around $1.72; conversion rate 2.35%; daily ROAS swung from about 0.2x to 2.9x
2026-06-25 Unnamed advertiserB2B software (agency client) – – 69 – 24 conversions as counted by the platform Seen youtube.com
Agency: Focal (Henry Purchase), in a video on $10,000+ spent across its own and client campaigns. One ad shown with almost 6,000 impressions, 69 clicks and 24 conversions after a few days; spend, conversion type and market not given. Focal's own 2026-05-23 tracking guide says OpenAI's sample pixel code, pasted whole, counts every page view as a conversion
2026-07-01 Unnamed advertiserecommerce, high-priced product (orders over $1,000) – $9,620 – $4.41 $19,000-$38,000 attributed revenue (ROAS 3.3-6.8, depends on attribution model) Claimed searchenginejournal.com
Agency: Common Thread Collective (own post 2026-07-01, figures via SEJ). About a month, $7/day scaled to $1,000+/day; CTR 0.94%; 136,000 weekly impressions
2026-07-13 AdLibrarySaaS, ad research tool (own product) US $200 40 $5.00 0 conversions Claimed adlibrary.com
Budget used up in about 2 days of a planned 2-week run; ~5,000 impressions, CTR ~0.8%; clicks reported as ~40, CPC as ~$5
2026-07-20 Unnamed advertisereducation, vocational audio college (consultant's client) US $400 – – a few form fills (count not given) Claimed youtube.com
Consultant: Guus Goorts. Spend given as about $400; GA4 counted 104 users from the ads; average engagement 18s vs 53s for the same site's Google Ads traffic; location targeting only by TV region
2026-07-24 Out of the Box Advisorssmall-business coaching (own service) – $500 140 $3.50 0 leads Seen outoftheboxadvisors.com
$500 spent in a little over an hour; ~10,000 impressions; CPC reported as roughly $3.50; the August update blames part of the click gap on its own missing UTM tags
2026-08-03 Grow My AdsGoogle Ads agency (own services) – $1,200 92 $13.00 0 conversions Seen growmyads.com
About 2 weeks; CPM $120, CTR 1%; spend given as $1,200 (rounded) in the results and as $1,000 in the headline
2026-08-03 Symphonic Digitaldigital marketing agency (own white-label PPC/SEO services) US $500 53 $9.00 0 leads (1 form started, not finished) Seen symphonicdigital.com
One month on a $50/day budget; spend reported as roughly $500, CPC as ~$9; max bid raised to $12 to pace after $3 was advised
2026-08-10 SE RankingSEO software (own product) US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand – 1,263 – very few sign-ups Seen seranking.com
About 2 weeks; 3 campaigns, 48 ads; 97,000+ impressions, CTR 1.30%; CPC $1.50-$4.00 (range as published); spend not given; campaigns stopped
2026-08-17 Eyekillerpaid media agency (own services) UK – – – not enough attributed conversions to switch to conversion bidding Seen eyekiller.com
Four weeks at the GBP 15/day minimum; CPM GBP 18.36 (30-day average), CPC GBP 2.33; engagement time per session half that of its own Google Ads; first aimed at UK, Australia and US, then UK only
2026-08-19 Unnamed advertiserlead gen, apartments and senior living (5 properties) US $4,000 – – 16 key events (12, 2 and 2; two properties had none) Seen conversionlogix.com
Agency: Conversion Logix. 30 days in June; CPC bidding on 2 properties, CPM on 3; cost per GA4 session $4.63 (CPC) vs $10.06 (CPM); CTR 1.15% vs 0.74%; GA4 counted 529 new users (clicks not published)
2026-08-20 Out of the Box Advisorssmall-business coaching (own service) – $175 – $2.77 1 conversion event (not a real lead, per the advertiser) Seen outoftheboxadvisors.com
Second campaign, in the Aug 20 update: one week, same landing page, working tagged links; CPC reported as roughly $2.77; click count not given
2026-08-21 Unnamed advertiserwellness coaching, high-ticket (agency client) US $1,139 397 $2.87 22 leads at $52 each (10 ready-to-book at $114 each, 12 eBook downloads) Seen blogs.malachisoft.com
Agency: MalachiSoft. 6 weeks (Jul 3-Aug 17); 32,897 impressions; Texas-based practice, ads shown nationwide
2026-08-26 Workshop Digitaldigital marketing agency (own B2B services) – $2,319 739 $3.14 0 qualified leads (MQLs) Seen workshopdigital.com
3 campaigns (manufacturing, financial services, digital marketing audiences); CTR 1.1%, 69,630 impressions. Own Google Search: CPC $6.76, CTR 5.2%, 2 MQLs
2026-08-26 Choice OMGmarketing agency (own AI marketing service) Canada – 58 – 0 lead forms Seen choice.marketing
Jun 8-25, Ontario and Alberta; 8,940 impressions, CTR 0.65%; avg CPC CA$7.16 (CPC-bid CA$4.42/4.88, CPM-bid ~CA$18.18); MediaPost gave spend as $415, currency not stated
2026-08-27 Scopic Studiossoftware agency testing its own product – – – $2.74 not measured (17 days judged too short for ROI) Claimed scopicstudios.com
$25/day budget for 17 days; CTR 0.86%; CPC below OpenAI's recommended $3-5 bid range; market given only as "select markets"
2026-08-28 CleverlyB2B lead generation agency (own campaign) – – 57 – 0 conversions Claimed mediapost.com
Figures relayed by MediaPost from Cleverly's Nicholas Verity; spend and CPC not given
2026-09-02 PerfectTablePlandesktop software, event seating planner (own product) – – 2,988 – 14 installs (GBP 20.68 per install) Seen successfulsoftware.net
Aug 5-28; spend GBP 289.52, CPC GBP 0.10 (bids GBP 0.07-0.15); 0.46% click-to-install; 7s average time on page, 69% bounce
2026-09-04 Unnamed advertiservisa and passport expediting service US $707 200 $3.37 0 orders (20 forms started, 1 quote) Seen reddit.com
8 days (Aug 28-Sep 4), Reddit u/Michael-Traction; clicks reported as ~200, CTR 0.75%. Same page on Google, same 6 days: 426 clicks, 127 sessions; cost per engaged session ~$92 vs ~$555; visits: 15 sessions from 165 ChatGPT clicks over the same 6 days
2026-09-05 Unnamed advertiserecommerce, premium supplements (DTC) Spain – 160 – 0 conversions Seen reddit.com
Reddit u/EssenzaVital; spend EUR 37.61, CPC EUR 0.24; 5,590 impressions, CTR 2.86%; many sessions 1-10s; OpenAI support later confirmed the click and spend figures
2026-09-08 Hostingerweb hosting – $70,000 – – – Claimed searchenginejournal.com
Huseyin Ograk (head of PPC) via SEJ; spend reported as nearly $70,000; CPM above $65; CTR the bigger problem; traffic quality inconsistent; return hard to judge from direct sales
2026-09-08 Unnamed advertiserB2B (company not named) – – – – – Claimed searchenginejournal.com
Floyd Blaikie on LinkedIn, via SEJ; spend roughly CA$7,000; CPC 9.29, CPM 64.34 (currency not stated); CTR 0.7%; 5 of 146 organizations identified behind 336 clicks matched ICP
2026-09-11 Unnamed advertiserB2B SaaS (several agency clients: AI, tax, procurement, project management) – – – $5.00 150+ qualified leads over three months; cost per lead 60% lower than Google (agency's claim) Claimed interteammarketing.com
InterTeam Marketing (Toronto) case study; CPC given as "~$5"; market, spend, impressions and clicks not published
2026-09-11 Unnamed advertisernot stated – – – – 1 conversion Claimed reddit.com
Reddit comment: spend GBP 180; paused; says product feeds are 'awful'
2026-09-16 Unnamed advertisermarketing consultant and trainer (own campaigns) Poland – – – not reported Claimed youtube.com
YouTube video in Polish (Artur Jabłoński). Several campaigns, spend given as a few thousand zloty; CTR about 1% to nearly 2%; CPC from about EUR 0.2 to just over EUR 1 and CPM from about EUR 5 to the low teens of euros on near-identical context hints; single ads at 1,000-2,000 impressions and 10-20 clicks. Figures read from Polish auto-captions

How to read the table

Testing ChatGPT ads? Send your numbers; we'll show how they compare. Your numbers stay private.

How to send them →